Florida law requires every registered elevator company to have a permit issued by the Division of Hotels and Restaurants before installing, altering, or relocating any type of vertical conveyance licensed by the division. Conveyances located in and serving only one family residence are not regulated by the division and do not require a permit from the division. Only Registered Elevator Companies can apply for permits. Permits are not issued to owners or operators of vertical conveyances.

Florida law requires all vertical conveyances available for public use, including elevators, escalators, moving walks, dumbwaiters, material lifts, and chair lifts, to have a Certificate of Operation from the division before beginning operation. The division does not license conveyances in private residences.

If your elevator operations are within one of the division’s contracted jurisdictions, please contact the appropriate jurisdiction for permits, licensing, inspections, and other services provided.

Additional information on the types of conveyances permitted and licensed by the division is available in Chapter 399, Florida Statutes. Additional information on licensing an elevator is available on our Frequently Asked Questions website.

Before the division may issue a permit to install, alter or relocate, the Registered Elevator Company must perform the following:

1. Construction Plans and Drawings

Obtain and review the construction plans for compliance with Chapter 399, Florida Statutes, and Chapter 30, Florida Building Code, including applicable NFPA and NEC standards. You will be required to affirm to the division that the plans are in compliance with the laws and codes. Plans and drawings are NOT submitted to the bureau.

2. Application

Obtain and complete the appropriate application form. A separate permit application is required for each conveyance.

3. Affidavit

Obtain and complete the Affidavit of Elevator Code Compliance. This affidavit is included with all elevator permit application forms on our website. The affidavit must be signed by a qualified agent employed by the elevator company applying for the permit.

4. Permit Fee

Permit fees are based upon the type of permit application:

  • Permit to Install or Relocate – $325 ($250 + $75 for the initial Certificate of Operation)
  • Permit to Alter – $200

5. Submit Application and Fees

Send the completed permit application, all required documentation, and the appropriate fee to:

Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Division of Hotels and Restaurants
Bureau of Elevator Safety
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783

Most applications are processed within two weeks, but for planning purposes please allow 3-4 weeks for processing.

6. Inspection upon completion of work

All vertical conveyances, except in private residences, must pass an initial inspection prior to public use. The inspection must be conducted by a certified elevator inspector not associated with or employed by the registered elevator company or the elevator owner. The elevator company installing the elevator is responsible for tests, inspections and correction of any violations until a Certificate of Operation is issued by the division.

Need Help?

All requests for public records, complaints, forms, and applications for licenses can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Steven von Bodungen, Director

Division of Hotels and Restaurants
Bureau of Elevator Safety
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1013

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Email: dhr.elevators@myfloridalicense.com